Numbers 28 – More Sacrifices?


As I was reading this chapter I thought to myself “more sacrifices?” Maybe you’ll think the same thing to as you read through this chapter. So, what’s the deal with all this slaughter, why so much repetition and emphasis on sacrifice? Find out why…


The Lord said to Moses, “Give these instructions to the people of Israel: The offerings you present as special gifts are a pleasing aroma to me; they are my food. See to it that they are brought at the appointed times and offered according to my instructions.

Here’s the link to the rest of the chapter: http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Numbers+28&version=NLT


When you repeat something over and over again to someone why do you do it? It’s probably cause you want them to get the point of its importance and because you don’t want them to forget what you’ve told them. But why so much blood? Why so much innocent blood? I believe that God wanted His children to realize how deadly sin is. Furthermore, He wanted us to realize that although our sins would be the cause of His Son’s death, there was a way to make at-one-ment, a way to reconnect the link that sin had severed between man and God and that “way” is Christ alone! Jesus is that precious aroma and only Christ in us can make us acceptable to God. Never forget that sacrifice!

I’m reminded of the lyrics to the song “Before the Throne of God above” that say…

Because the sinless Savior died,
My sinful soul is counted free;
For God the just is satisfied
To look on Him and pardon me…
Behold Him there, the Risen Lamb
My perfect, spotless righteousness,
The great unchangeable I am,
The King of glory and of grace!

Blessings,
Josue Hernandez.

Holy Bible. New Living Translation copyright© 1996, 2004, 2007 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved.

Tell us what you think!

