Psalm 4 – How To Get Rid of Anger


Have you ever got in trouble for something you didn’t do? Doesn’t that make you so angry? It makes me angry, and David too…

………………………………………

Answer me when I call, O God of my righteousness!
You have given me relief when I was in distress.
Be gracious to me and hear my prayer!

O men, how long shall my honor be turned into shame?
How long will you love vain words and seek after lies? Selah
But know that the Lord has set apart the godly for himself;
the Lord hears when I call to him.

Be angry, and do not sin;
ponder in your own hearts on your beds, and be silent. Selah
Offer right sacrifices,
and put your trust in the Lord.

There are many who say, “Who will show us some good?
Lift up the light of your face upon us, O Lord!”
You have put more joy in my heart
than they have when their grain and wine abound.

In peace I will both lie down and sleep;
for you alone, O Lord, make me dwell in safety.

………………………………………

Of course, we’ve all been angry before, and maybe we’ve even used this text to justify our anger at times! Instead of misquoting the passage, maybe we should follow the method’s David used to deal with anger.

First, know that the Lord hears when we call to Him. Second, don’t sin! Sometimes our angriness gets us into trouble! Third, think about it before you go to sleep, not after. Don’t let the sun go down on your wrath! Fourth, keep silent! Don’t talk about them behind their back!! Fifth, offer right sacrifices, and remember that Jesus said before you offer sacrifices you have to go make things right with people whom you’ve offended (Matthew 18)! Now that you’ve made things right, sixth is to trust God.

The last step is to relax! “In peace I will both lie down and sleep; for You alone, O Lord, make me dwell in safety.”

Let go of that anger!

Timmy Baze 😀

 

Scripture portions taken from the Holy Bible, English Standard Version, Copyright © 2001 by Crossway Bibles, a division of Good News Publishers.

Tell us what you think!

