Psalm 22 – My Strength is Gone


It is the day your plans don’t go accordingly, your car breaks down, electricity is out, and the closest people to you are mad at you. What a lousy day, wouldn’t you wish it would be over?  I would, my head would be spinning, a frown on my face, and a negative attitude followed me. However, there is nothing worse than having a lousy day in your spiritual experience. Begin this Psalm, click the link and read the entire chapter.


1My God, my God, why have You forsaken me? Far from my deliverance are the words of my groaning.

2O my God, I cry by day, but You do not answer; And by night, but I have no rest.

3Yet You are holy, O You who are enthroned upon the praises of Israel.

4In You our fathers trusted; They trusted and You delivered them.

5To You they cried out and were delivered; In You they trusted and were not disappointed.

6 But I am a worm and not a man, A reproach of men and despised by the people.

7All who see me sneer at me; They separate with the lip, they wag the head, saying,

8 “Commit yourself to the Lord; let Him deliver him; Let Him rescue him, because He delights in him.”

9 Yet You are He who brought me forth from the womb; You made me trust when upon my mother’s breasts

10 Upon You I was cast from birth; You have been my God from my mother’s womb.

11Be not far from me, for trouble is near; For there is none to help.

12Many bulls have surrounded me; Strong bulls of Bashan have encircled me.

13They open wide their mouth at me, As a ravening and a roaring lion.

14I am poured out like water, And all my bones are out of joint; My heart is like wax; It is melted within me.

15My strength is dried up like a potsherd, And my tongue cleaves to my jaws; And You lay me in the dust of death.


The statement I made previously, suggests that as Christians or baby followers of Christ we can experience spiritual bad days, right? The psalms that David wrote had a reference to the coming Messiah and many of the descriptions were accomplished when Jesus first came. But in this psalm David begins to write with distress in his heart, he is overwhelmed by all the things revolving him. How often do you feel oppressed, forgotten, ashamed, or maybe tired of trying to figure out on which side of the pendulum do you belong in Christianity? Do not worry, this has happened all through history and God has delivered his followers from worries and all evil because they trusted in Him. As you continued reading this psalm you might have realized that the cry for help turned into a praise. It is important to remember the former things Christ has done for you so that in your nights of distress when your strength is gone you have those records to hold on. They assure you to stand firm on the promises of God, plus they are real evidence of the love of God. You see, Jesus wants to save you and give you rest, to be the center and balance in your life. Jesus clearly made the invitation for all to “Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.” (Mat. 11:28-30). Take your sorrows and worries to Christ and He will give you the strength you need to overcome today’s trails.

God be with you,

Alejandra Zepeda

Scripture taken from the NEW AMERICAN STANDARD BIBLE®, Copyright © 1960,1962,1963,1968,1971,1972,1973,1975,1977,1995 by The Lockman Foundation. Used by permission.

Tell us what you think!

