Psalm 40 – On His Mind


Sometimes I’m amazed that Jesus would make such a great sacrifice to come to this earth and die so that I could live someday with Him. After all He did for us, you might think that He would sit back and think about happier thoughts, trying not to remember the worst times of His life. This text contradicts that idea sharply.

After telling of how God rescued him from a horrible place, David praises the Lord, and then asks for help again. He says,

“But may all who seek you rejoice and be glad in you; may those who love your salvation say continually, ‘Great is the Lord!’ As for me, I am poor and needy, but the Lord takes thought for me. You are my help and my deliverer; do not delay, O my God!” Psalm 40:16-17.

What an amazing thought! I am poor and needy, and still the Lord thinks about me! He has you on His mind right now. In fact, He can’t get you off His mind! You are like a song that is stuck in His head, and the amazing part is, He enjoys it!

Now I have to think. It’s amazing that God has me on His mind all the time, but shouldn’t I be thinking about Him constantly also? It would be wrong for me to give you advice if I wasn’t doing this myself, so I’m going to phrase this like a challenge:  Let’s see how much we can keep God on our minds today!

Challenge accepted.

Help me, Father to set my mind on things above, not on the things on this earth. (Colossians 3:2)

Timmy Baze 😀

 

Scripture portions taken from the Holy Bible, English Standard Version, Copyright © 2001 by Crossway Bibles, a division of Good News Publishers.

 

We’re constantly looking to improve our blog and we’d like to hear from you! This will be sent confidentially to us, and we’re excited to see what you have to say!

Tell us what you think!

