Psalm 43 – My Hiding Place


Feeling oppressed? Like a failure? Discouraged about your final grades? Misunderstood? Unnoticed? This morning I assure you, God is your best hiding place, source of security, liberator, joy, and redeemer.


1 Declare me innocent, O God! Defend me against these ungodly people. Rescue me from these unjust liars.
2 For you are God, my only safe haven. Why have you tossed me aside? Why must I wander around in grief, oppressed by my enemies?
3 Send out your light and your truth; let them guide me. Let them lead me to your holy mountain, to the place where you live.
4 There I will go to the altar of God, to God—the source of all my joy. I will praise you with my harp, O God, my God!
5 Why am I discouraged? Why is my heart so sad? I will put my hope in God! I will praise him again—my Savior and my God!


Why should we feel like a failure? Or feel discouraged and oppressed? The devil has his way into our minds, misleading us to think no one cares, that we are weak and hopeless. However, God’s word says differently. God can declare you innocent; wash you in the righteous blood of Christ to make you clean of sin and guilt. Let your light shine through this dark world, let God’s word guide you, let yourself be led by His spirit and commit to the Lord. Fulfill your job as a Child of God to serve and bless humanity. Carry Christ’s blood stained cross and fulfill the completion of His work. Like the Psalmist says in the last verse, put your hope in God! Praise him over and over again because of what he has done in your life, for the way he has brought you through, for being your hiding place when you most needed someone. He loves you dearly because you have been bought with an infinite price, the cost was the blood of the Son of God. Consider the sacrifice of the Father permitting His Son to make this sacrifice. But it was by Christ that made it possible for all who will believe in Him to have hope eternal life in the Joy of God.

“I have written to you, fathers, Because you have known Him who is from the beginning. I have written to you, young men, Because you are strong, and the word of God abides in you, And you have overcome the wicked one.” 1Jn2:14

May He guide you and keep you friend,

Alejandra Zepeda

Holy Bible. New Living Translation copyright© 1996, 2004, 2007 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved.

Tell us what you think!

