Psalm 46 – Therefore We Will Not Fear!


Psalm 46 – Therefore We Will Not Fear!

 

Geometry proofs fascinated me in high school, until my teacher started marking mine wrong. I didn’t understand why the proof needed so many steps if I could prove it in less than what the answer key wanted. I don’t like complicated reasons, I like simple reasons. While this may not always work with geometry, it works with God. Read the first “verse” of this incredible song:

 

God is our refuge and strength,
A very present help in trouble.
Therefore we will not fear
Though the earth gives way,
 Though the mountains be moved into the heart of the sea,
Though its waters roar and foam,
Though the mountains tremble at its swelling.
Selah
 (verses 1-3)

I wish I could post the entire song here, but my space is limited!
Read the rest of this beautiful hymn here: goo.gl/pFLT3

 

The first part of this is like a geometry proof:

1. God is our refuge and strength
2. God is a very present help in trouble
∴, We will not fear.

What an amazing God we serve! Even if the whole world is destroyed, which it will be someday, we can trust God to take care of us!

 

This psalm brings back memories for me.

My parents decided to have our family memorize it soon after the September 11, 2001 World Trade Center attacks, because my sister and I were afraid.

My college choir sings this song in an incredible arrangement by John Ness Beck that mixes the melody of “A Mighty Fortress” with the words of this psalm.

 

Today this psalm can be yours. We all are faced with fear at some time in our lives. Maybe we’re afraid of a person, our neighborhood, a weather situation, a job situation, a financial situation, or a health situation. Whatever our phobia is, we can choose to say with confidence, “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Therefore, we will not fear, no matter what happens!”

 

Don’t be afraid. Hold onto Jesus!

 

Timmy Baze 😀

 

Scripture portions are taken from the Holy Bible, English Standard Version Anglicised, Copyright © 2001 by Crossway Bibles, a division of Good News Publishers.

Tell us what you think!

