Psalm 54 – Who Won?


Sometimes when you watch a sports event on TV, you pretty much know who’s going to win. If the game is between a very well-known team and a team that you’ve never heard of, you can almost certainly decide which team will come away with the victory. David was hiding from King Saul amongst the people, and when someone found out, David became afraid and wondered who would win. Would he come out victorious, or would Saul?

Behold, God is my helper;
the Lord is the upholder of my life.
He will return the evil to my enemies;
in your faithfulness put an end to them.

With a freewill offering I will sacrifice to you;
I will give thanks to your name, O Lord, for it is good.
For he has delivered me from every trouble,
and my eye has looked in triumph on my enemies.
(verses 4-7)

Read the rest: http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=psalm%2054&version=ESV

David’s confidence in God, despite his utter distress, ought to be a lesson to each of us. Do we get distressed and troubled when terrible things happen to us? We can confidently look to the end of the Bible and say with assurance, “God is going to win! I am on His side, so I will also win! I don’t have to be stressed out or afraid.”

Thank You, Father, for the confidence that we have in You. Thank You for winning the battle and gaining the victory. Please help me to hold on to that victory as I learn to trust You more and more.

 

Keep holding on to Jesus,

Timmy Baze 😀

 

Scripture portions taken from the Holy Bible, English Standard Version, Copyright © 2001 by Crossway Bibles, a division of Good News Publishers.

 

Tell us what you think!

