Psalm 56 – When I am Afraid


Last night was the night. Constantly, we face difficulties and are put to the test. But do we find the right solution? What do you do when you are afraid? When you are left alone feeling internal sadness? When sorrow creeps in and brings you down? When you look at yourself and feel empty inside?

_____________________________________________________

O God, have mercy on me, for people are hounding me. My foes attack me all day long.
I am constantly hounded by those who slander me, and many are boldly attacking me.
But when I am afraid, I will put my trust in you.
I praise God for what he has promised. I trust in God, so why should I be afraid? What can mere mortals do to me?

They are always twisting what I say; they spend their days plotting to harm me.

They come together to spy on me— watching my every step, eager to kill me.
Don’t let them get away with their wickedness; in your anger, O God, bring them down.

You keep track of all my sorrows. You have collected all my tears in your bottle. You have recorded each one in your book.

My enemies will retreat when I call to you for help. This I know: God is on my side!
10 I praise God for what he has promised; yes, I praise the Lord for what he has promised.
11 I trust in God, so why should I be afraid? What can mere mortals do to me?

12 I will fulfill my vows to you, O God, and will offer a sacrifice of thanks for your help.
13 For you have rescued me from death; you have kept my feet from slipping. So now I can walk in your presence, O God, in your life-giving light.


“Go back to (YOUR NAME), the leader of my people. Tell him/her, ‘This is what the Lord, the God of your ancestor David, says: I have heard your prayer and seen your tears. I will heal you, and three days from now you will get out of bed and go to the Temple of the Lord.” -2 Kings 20:5

When you face a period of sorrow, depression, freight, loneliness or emptiness seek the Lord in prayer just like David did in this psalm. As I mentioned in the introduction, last night I taste a little more of what it means to grow up. Sometimes we let ourselves be overwhelmed with negativity. Don’t let yourself be afraid, trust in Jesus. Praise Him for his promise found in 2 Kings 20:5! He has heard your prayers, seen your tears, and promises to HEAL you and give you what you need to get up and seek Him in His house of prayer! In verse 8, we are assured again that He keeps track of all your sorrows, has collected all your tears in a special bottle with your name on it and are all recorded. God is always on your side when you are on His side. Fulfill your vows to Him too, like keeping all your baptismal vows, keeping His whole Word, studying, and representing Him so that you can walk in His presence. There is no greater Joy than to be in the presence of God, guiltless and with the assurance that your Redeemer and Best friend is coming back for you, soon and very soon!

God bless,

Alejandra Zepeda

Holy Bible. New Living Translation copyright© 1996, 2004, 2007 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved.

One thought on “Psalm 56 – When I am Afraid

  1. Pingback: Day 164: Psalms 55-60; More on Praying, Lamenting, and Justice | Overisel Reformed Church

Tell us what you think!

