Psalm 68 – Our Burden Bearer


Aren’t you glad that God helps us with our burdens? I am! This chapter has many different topics but we’re going to focus in on verse 19, and the surrounding verses. Let’s dig in!
…………………………………
To read the entire psalm, click on the link below:
http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Psalm+68&version=NLT
…………………………………
I love the hope given in verse 19-20. “God is a God who saves,” is such a powerful statement. Think about it. Sometimes I think that we can get caught up and distracted with the minor things and we lose sight of the fact that God is a God who saves. Jesus even states His mission with verse 20 in Luke 19:10, “‘For the Son of Man came to seek and to save the lost.’” All of us have burdens and Jesus, our Burden Bearer, wants to save you from them. Jesus says to each of us, “‘Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest,’” (Mat. 11:28). Take your requests, burdens, and praises to the Lord – hey, why not to each other?

You don’t have to walk through your trials alone. As brothers and sisters in Christ we ought to pray with and for one another. I’ll even start off with my requests – This summer I will be serving as a volunteer chaplain at a hospital in Los Angeles. Also, I’m in search of a job for the summer. Do you have any requests for prayer? Please share. Pray for me as I pray for you.

This will be my last devotional with you guys for a while; I’m taking some time off. As it is written in Genesis, “May the Lord keep watch between you and me when we are away from each other.” May He continue to stand beside you through times of trial.

Angel Rivero

Holy Bible. New Living Translation copyright© 1996, 2004, 2007 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved.

3 thoughts on “Psalm 68 – Our Burden Bearer

  1. Thank you for this reminder! Sometimes, it’s easy just to try and do things ourselves, but in reality, it’s totally the opposite. It’s difficult because we’re sinners and need God. I’m also thankful that we have a community of believers to whom we can be encouraged and challenged by whether they are far or near. Please pray for me as I am trying to find the money to get to Indiana this summer. I’m all the way on a tiny island called “Saipan” and the tickets are so expensive. Please pray that I will trust and depend on God and if it’s not His will, that I will be content. Thank you again for this devotional as it was a great blessing to me.

    • No problem! We appreciate the community of believers that we get to share with on a daily basis. Thanks for reading, we’re glad you were blessed. And we will definitely pray for you, Daisha. “Lord, we thank you for being a God that wants to hear from us through prayer. Thank you for the fellowship of believers. Lord, we ask that Your will would be done in Daisha’s life and that You would help her as she plans to travel to Indiana. May she continually trust You and depend more on You. Thank You for hearing and answering our prayer. In Jesus’ name, amen.” God bless, Daisha!

Tell us what you think!

