Psalm 80 – Revive Me!


In a time a national desperation, David cries out to his Shepherd. It is a prayer for the restoration of God’s favor to His people. Have you felt the need to be restored?


Key verses: 3,7,18, 19 3 O God, restore us And cause Your face to shine upon us, [c]and we will be saved. 7 O God of hosts, restore us And cause Your face to shine upon us, [g]and we will be saved. 18 Then we shall not turn back from You; Revive us, and we will call upon Your name. 19 O Lord God of hosts, restore us; Cause Your face to shine upon us, [n]and we will be saved.

http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Psalm%2080&version=NASB


David took it serious about being persistent, three times he recites the same prayer. Can you imagine how emotionally distraught he was? He thought that God was angry with them, what could they have done to feel that way? What calls my attention the most is in verse 18 because David is acknowledging that perhaps the problem is that they are spiritually dead and in need of revival. I think this is something that I will ask God everyday, that He will revive me to be spiritually active. I have noticed that when my spiritual life is on the defense I tend to have more problems, but when it is on the offense I don’t have as many problems. Maybe it is because I don’t a lot time to thinking inwardly because I’m spending my time thinking outwardly toward others.

Have you had a similar experience? I want to invite you to ask God everyday to revive His people, including yourself and me. You know what they say “the best defense is a good offense.”

Blessings,

Dnieper Vegavillalobos

Scripture taken from the NEW AMERICAN STANDARD BIBLE®, Copyright © 1960,1962,1963,1968,1971,1972,1973,1975,1977,1995 by The Lockman Foundation. Used by permission.

Tell us what you think!

