Psalm 117 – He Still Loves?


Answer: Yes, despite knowing us, He still loves us! But wait… there’s even more! Keep reading to find out what!
This may be the shortest chapter in the Bible, but it sure packs an incredible message! Read this (the entire chapter) and see if you don’t agree:

Praise the LORD, all nations!
Extol him, all peoples!
For great is his steadfast love toward us,
and the faithfulness of the LORD endures forever.
Praise the LORD!

(For an incredible and fresh translation of this passage from the new “The Voice” Bible, click here: http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=psalm%20117&version=VOICE)

Sometimes I’m amazed that God’s love is actually steadfast and unfailing. God knows us better than we know ourselves. He knows what we are actually like when the lights are off and no one else is around. Despite all this, His loves is never ending. Isn’t that amazing? Yes it is, but not as amazing as what comes next in this concentrated psalm.

His faithfulness lasts forever. “The Voice” translation adds the words “His promises” in italics*, and although those words do not appear in the original manuscript, they cover everything possible. Despite our bad behavior in unfaithfulness to God, He still is faithful in everything He has promised to us. While we should remember that many of these promises are indeed conditional and only for those who are actively following God, we must also remember that God is “faithful and just to forgive us our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness” (1 John 1:9) no matter where we are in our walk with God. Despite who we all are on the inside: helpless  and hopeless, heedless and hapless, God still loves us and has promised that, if we confess our sins, He will take away our sin and help us begin again.

“Who am I, that the eyes that see my sin
Would look on me with love and watch me rise again?” –Mark Hall

Psalm 117

Who am I? I am a child of God, loved and cherished unconditionally. I am who I am because I have a God who is faithful to clean me up and put me back on the right track again. Without God, I am nothing. With God, I have everything I need.
“Praise the LORD!”

-Timmy Baze 😀

*(meaning the words are not in the original manuscript, but added based on the author’s assumption of implication)
Scripture portions taken from the Holy Bible, English Standard Version, Copyright © 2001 by Crossway Bibles, a division of Good News Publishers.

Tell us what you think!

