3 John – Are We Walking in the Truth?


If I have all the knowledge in the world, does that guarantee that I will always make the correct decision? How can we measure knowledge? Is knowledge enough? I think you’ve already figured out where I’m going, but are you sure?

For I was very glad when brethren came and testified to your truth, that is, how you are walking in truth. I have no greater joy than this, to hear of my children walking in the truth.
3 John 1:3-4

Read the whole chapter!

Sometimes we get in a routine in which we equate knowing all the answers, especially doctrinal, with being right. There’s nothing wrong with knowing all the answers, if it’s possible. Jesus knew all the right things to say. But we can only be right by knowing Jesus. Not knowing about Him but “knowing” Him–having an intimate relationship with Him like a friend.

IMG_1541[1]Here is the meat and potatoes–John is telling Gaius that he knows that Gaius is walking in the truth because of what he heard about Gaius’ actions. John commends him because he treats everybody the same. John is not only speaking about what Gaius knows but about his actions that demonstrate truth. Then John equates truth to love; first he says “they testified that you are walking in the truth”  and then “they have testified to your love.” Truth and love are synonymous here.

Do you want to be known as someone walking in the Truth because the Truth is in you and it naturally produces the fruit of Love? I want people to say about me “that he has been with Jesus” (Acts 4:13) because what better way to glorify God and demonstrate God’s love for humanity but by your actions!

If this is your desire pray with me. “Lord Jesus, I want people to see You in me so they can know You. Not only do I want to have knowledge about You, but be able to demonstrate Your character with my actions and words. Amen”

Blessing my brothers and sisters,

Dnieper Vegavillalobos

Scripture taken from the NEW AMERICAN STANDARD BIBLE®, Copyright © 1960,1962,1963,1968,1971,1972,1973,1975,1977,1995 by The Lockman Foundation. Used by permission.

One thought on “3 John – Are We Walking in the Truth?

  1. Pingback: Life’s Most Profound Wisdom In A Cup Of Coffee | The Epic Life

Tell us what you think!

