Isaiah 26 – A Song in the Heart of Peace that Passes All Understanding


My Friends, I don’t know about you but when I am not having a good day, I sing, even though I am not a singer! In fact, music is not one of my strengths. Yet there is something about a song that uplifts our hearts. During those times, I usually listen to the hymn: “There is a Fountain.” In this chapter, Isaiah presents to us a song that will be sung when Jesus comes back. Let’s learn it so we can join the angels when it is sung.

In that day this song will be sung in the land of Judah:
“We have a strong city;
He sets up walls and ramparts for security.
Open the gates, that the righteous nation may enter,
The one that remains faithful.
The steadfast of mind You will keep in perfect peace,
Because he trusts in You.
Trust in the Lord forever,
For in God the Lord, we have an everlasting Rock.” Isaiah 26:1-4 (NASB)

Read the rest of the chapter!

Isaiah 26

What a beautiful promise in this song that God will keep us in perfect peace because we trust in Him. Before I met Jesus, no matter how happy I was due to my present circumstances or how much fun I was having, I always came to the realization that something was missing. I did not have peace in my heart. But all that changed; I hope I never take that for granted. God has filled my void and no matter what, I know that God will take care of me and my family. It reminds me of what Paul wrote: “And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:7 (NASB).

Another way that God gives us peace in this chapter is that He promises a resurrection to His children. Here is one of many resurrection references in the Old Testament. Christians have that peace that death is not the end. We do not have to sorrow like the world. We will live again because Jesus lives in us.

“Your dead will live;
Their corpses will rise.
You who lie in the dust, awake and shout for joy,
For your dew is as the dew of the dawn,
And the earth will give birth to the departed spirits.” Isaiah 26:19 (NASB)

Blessings,

Dnieper Vegavillalobos

Scripture taken from the NEW AMERICAN STANDARD BIBLE®, Copyright© 1960,1962,1963,1968,1971,1972,1973,1975,1977,1995 by The Lockman Foundation. Used by permission.

Tell us what you think!

