Isaiah 38 – God’s Silence


Have you ever found yourself in a peculiar situation where you ask God to do something extraordinary for you? I have. I remember the day I was supposed to go get an eye exam. I knew that I couldn’t see clearly but the thought of wearing glasses for the rest of my life haunted me. After all, I was only about 15 years young and walking around with glasses in high school would not be “cool.” I prayed and prayed for God to somehow restore my vision before the exam. Do you think my prayers were answered? Well, I’ll let you know that they were…eventually. I don’t wear glasses, except when my eyes get tired of contacts.

“Remember, O Lord, how I have always been faithful to you and have served you single-mindedly, always doing what pleases you.” Then he broke down and wept bitterly.
Isaiah 38:3

Isaiah 38

Hezekiah’s prayer request is one that I’ve heard many people make. Sadly, more often than not, God appears to be silent. There is no answer and the person goes on to “sleep.” This often leads to grief and tears but also to anger and complaints. “Why God? Why didn’t you do anything? Why did you let this happen?” We blame God for our loss and question His silence. But though He may appear to remain silent, the truth of the matter is that He is not. Exodus 3:7 says, “I am aware of their suffering.” While we may not understand why God allows certain things to happen, we can be confident that He can turn our pain and suffering into inexpressible joy and comfort. Sooner rather than later, Jesus will wipe away our tears. He has promised us that there will be no more pain or suffering on this Earth made new. Hold onto Jesus, friend. He will never let you down.

Blessings,
Josue Hernandez

Scripture quotations are taken from the Holy Bible, New Living Translation, copyright ©1996, 2004, 2007 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers, Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved.

4 thoughts on “Isaiah 38 – God’s Silence

Tell us what you think!

