1 Chronicles 10 – Decisions, Decisions…


So Saul died because he was unfaithful to the Lord. (1 Chronicles 10:13 NLT)

I am who I am today because of the “tiny” repeated acts throughout my 20 years of life. Looking back from this point of view, I realize that those decisions weren’t really small at all; they just seemed that way to me. Some say it takes about thirty days to form a habit. Now think about habits that you’ve been practicing for years! Today, I make my own decisions. Tomorrow, my decisions will make me; I am now beginning to reap what I sowed.

1 Chronicles 10So it happened to be with Saul. Disobeying the Lord once didn’t seem to be such a big deal. “Not following His commands to the letter can’t be that harmful,” he must’ve thought. And perhaps, they weren’t such a big deal–except when seen in light of eternity. Even our actions have reactions, equal and opposite at times. The truth seems to be that it starts off with a small decision, once considered insignificant, but that action begins to form into a habit. “One time won’t hurt,” we say. But we have here before us the example of Saul. His decisions made him who he was–and at the end of the war–a dead man. His unfaithfulness to the Lord had led to his death. Not so insignificant, now is it? Here’s a challenge: the next time you make a decision, think about the eternal weight that your decision carries. Ask yourself, “Who or what will this decision make me?” Tomorrow that decision will make you.

In Christ Alone,
Josue Hernandez

Scripture quotations are taken from the Holy Bible, New Living Translation, copyright ©1996, 2004, 2007 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers, Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved.

Tell us what you think!

