2 Chronicles 15 – Lessons on Leadership


2 Chronicles 15The Spirit of God came upon Azariah the son of Oded, and he went out to meet Asa and said to him, “Hear me, Asa, and all Judah and Benjamin: The Lord is with you while you are with Him. If you seek Him, He will be found by you, but if you forsake Him, He will forsake you.
2 Chronicles 15:1-2

Being the single authority over a large group of people scares me. The biggest leadership role I’ve had was being the Boys Director at Camp Wawona. I had seven counselors to work with, and each counselor could have up to eight campers on a given week. Even then, I had other administrative staff to turn to should I meet with a problem that I did not know how to solve. I couldn’t imagine being a king, or president, or ruler over a great nation without someone over me to advise me.

The good thing is that I don’t ever have to worry about that. King Asa may have been the top authority for Israel, but through the prophet Azariah, King Asa had access to a higher source of wisdom—God. I have that same Higher Power to look up to for wisdom. I can talk to Him in prayer, and seek His written counsel in His word, the Bible. If God ever puts me into a situation where I am looked up to as the “highest authority,” I know that I can trust in an even Higher Power to give me the wisdom I need.

King Asa and all of Israel “entered into a covenant to seek the Lord, the God of their fathers, with all their heart and with all their soul” (verse 12). I encourage you, whether you are in a position of leadership or not, to enter into the same covenant with God. It’s a decision you’ll never regret.

Put your trust in Christ alone!

Timmy Baze 😀

 SCRIPTURE PORTIONS USED IN THIS DEVOTIONAL MARKED ESV WERE TAKEN FROM THE HOLY BIBLE, ENGLISH STANDARD VERSION, COPYRIGHT © 2001 BY CROSSWAY BIBLES, A DIVISION OF GOOD NEWS PUBLISHERS.
Tell us what you think!

