Daniel 4 – Saving the Proud


Daniel 4Now I Nebuchadnezzar praise and extol and honour the King of heaven, all whose works are truth, and His ways judgment: and those that walk in pride He is able to abase.
Daniel 4:37

What does it mean to be proud? Pride is dangerous and offensive to God because the proud individual doesn’t see the need of God and God cannot give the person the help and healing desperately needed in his or her life.

King Nebuchadnezzar was allowed to have the privilege of being the king of one of the most powerful kingdoms of his time. He gave into the temptation to be proud, and this pride separated him from God. And so, God gave him a warning in a dream, which meant that his kingdom would be taken away for seven years.

Why did God do this? Why did He allow Nebuchadnezzar to go through this? This happened so that he would “know that the most High ruleth in the kingdom of men, and giveth it to whomsoever He will.” (verse 25) Nebuchadnezzar went through this discipline so that he could see that God is supreme and so that he could be saved from his pride and ambition.

Are we proud too? Do we say we know God but live like we don’t need Him? In many ways, we are very similar to Nebuchadnezzar. In the book of Revelation, God addresses a letter to us, we who are proud and lukewarm. In the letter to the Laodicean church, He says He is about to spit us out of His mouth “because thou sayest, I am rich, and increased with goods, and have need of nothing; and knowest not that thou art wretched, and miserable, and poor, and blind, and naked.” (Revelation 3:17)

Because God loves us and knows our pride and static state hurts us, God often allows humbling experiences to come into our lives. Trials and pressing experiences help us see our helplessness and our need of God, our weakness and His strength in spite of our weakness, our unworthiness and His worthiness. As Revelation 3:19 says, “As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten: be zealous therefore, and repent.”

At the end of the trial, the Bible says that Nebuchadnezzar lifted up his eyes toward heaven, and his understanding returned and he praised God. When these experiences come into our lives, God calls us to lift our eyes toward heaven and to fix our eyes on Jesus. He still loves us and wants to take away the pride in our hearts that separate our hearts from His.

God is calling out to you with all His heart to lift up your eyes to Him. Will you listen to His voice? He is waiting for us. He is knocking at the door of your heart saying, “Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.” (Revelation 3:20)

Will you let Him come in?

Charlene Wang

3 thoughts on “Daniel 4 – Saving the Proud

  1. Thank you Charlene for this message. I can definitely apply this to myself because it reminds me of when I injured myself during the year of 2012-2013, when I was a student at PUC. Surprise surprise…lol Although I went through a lot of depression at the time, I was humbled and I realized that God truly protected me at the time. This message you gave me is just another reminder that I need to humble myself before the LORD and always be grateful for what I DO have!

    Welcome to the team Charlene! I’m excited to read more of your devotions! God bless!

  2. Pingback: Top Posts in 2014 | In Christ Alone Devotions

Tell us what you think!

