Micah 1 – I Hear Him Coming!


Micah 1When I was a kid, I was very good at knowing when my dad was close by. His keys jingled a certain tune, and he walked at a certain pace. He was easy to tell from my mom, whose ankles made a particular clicking noise, and who didn’t carry many keys. I remember lying in bed, and hearing my dad park the car in the driveway and walk up to the house. I can still hear the reassuring sound of those keys as he pulled them out of his pocket, and unlocked the screen door, then the main door. I felt safe, because my dad was finally home. And if my dad was home, everything was right again.

As I got older, I started taking advantage of knowing what my dad’s steps sounded like. Sometimes if I was doing something I shouldn’t, I would hear his steps before I would see him coming, and quickly make it look like I was doing something else. It’s these times that I remember in disgust, because the steps of my loving father that once brought me security and peace of mind, now brought me fear and distress. Now when I heard those steps and that faint but familiar tune, I no longer felt a sense of relief, but instead I wondered if I would be caught this time. But at the same time I knew that if my dad caught me doing something wrong, he would discipline me, and everything would be set right again.

The prophet Micah heard that God was coming, and he knew that the people of Israel weren’t doing what was right. The Israelites knew that their idolatry and sexual practices weren’t right, and they knew that God could see them. It’s one thing to know that God can see you, but it’s another thing to hear that He is physically coming down to check on you. And that’s exactly what Micah said.

Hear, you peoples, all of you; pay attention, O earth, and all that is in it, and let the Lord God be a witness against you, the Lord from his holy temple. For behold, the Lord is coming out of his place, and will come down and tread upon the high places of the earth. And the mountains will melt under him, and the valleys will split open, like wax before the fire, like waters poured down a steep place. All this is for the transgression of Jacob and for the sins of the house of Israel.
Micah 1:2-5

His message in short: The Lord was going to come out of His temple and judgment would take place.

Micah walked around shirtless and barefoot–which in that culture indicated sadness. Those that listened to his mournful cries learned that the capital city of Israel would be destroyed and turned into a vineyard, and heard him encourage them to repent and mourn with him for their impending doom.

But there was one glimmer of hope in Micah’s message.

I will again bring a conqueror to you, inhabitants of Mareshah; the glory of Israel shall come to Adullam.
Micah 1:15

Everything would be set right again.

Friends, the time is soon coming where God will once again come out of His heavenly temple and set everything right again. Although right now Jesus is interceding for us in the Heavenly Sanctuary, soon He will step out of that temple and come down on the clouds to do two things–to bring judgment to those who reject Him, and to set everything right for those who made Him their best friend.

For some, the sound of His coming will cause guilt and fear, but for others, that sound will bring peace and security. What will it be for you? Maybe it’s time we stop living lives full of guilt and fear and put those things away. It’s time for you and I to start living a life focused on Christ alone. Jesus is coming soon, and that familiar tune should be a joyful sound!

Joy to the world–the Lord is coming!

Timmy Baze 😀

SCRIPTURE PORTIONS TAKEN FROM THE HOLY BIBLE, ENGLISH STANDARD VERSION, COPYRIGHT © 2001 BY CROSSWAY BIBLES, A DIVISION OF GOOD NEWS PUBLISHERS
Tell us what you think!

