Proverbs 26 – The Fools


Proverbs 26 - The FoolsI question myself at times when I read a description of a fool. I often times think of myself as lazy. I might even be both at the same time and not even know it.

Seriously though, in the work place, I have been promoted when I thought myself not ready or educated enough. My employer thought otherwise. As I checked my emotions, I was elevated several times over the years. Trying not to be the fool that doesn’t lack in understanding, I educated myself in my spare time. I read and observed, asked questions, worked hard to meet expectations and to sharpen specific skills, filing into memory all that was required of me and then some.

But, the fool is one who continues to lack understanding, not “bettering” themselves. When given great responsibility, fools eventually do harm to themselves, fellow employees and the employer, to whom they had been entrusted.

My simplistic example was to convey that the fool will remain a fool, and will return to being the fool.

The one thing that can change the fool is what has happened to me and to others I have known. Those of us who were seemingly foolish, were in part a product of emotional insecurity, of being socially unacceptable, ridiculed and discarded as waste.

That one thing is that I made a choice. There was a complete change of heart and an outlook on life that included the ”Assurance of Hope.”

Proverbs 26 talks of the fool, the sluggard and the busybodies of the world.

Proverbs 26 also contrasts the alternatives and results of being of these characters.

“I (the fool), am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I (the fool), but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me. (The Assurance of Hope)” (Galatians 2:20)

Grow up into Christ, Christians!!

Bill Cude

2 thoughts on “Proverbs 26 – The Fools

  1. I really like the way you incorporate “the fool” into the passage from Galatians 2:20–one of my favorite Bible verses! It gives it a whole new meaning! Thanks so much Bill!

Tell us what you think!

