Prologue: Searching for Wisdom


Proverbs Prologue

Wisdom is better than rubies. Proverbs 8:11

Reading through Proverbs, we’ve learned a lot about wisdom. As a college student, I definitely remember praying for wisdom and God’s help as I wrote papers, studied for exams and of course as I took those exams! Now if I had prayed, but not studied, it wouldn’t have done me much good.

Proverbs 2 verse 4 tells us to seek wisdom like silver and to search for it as for hidden treasure. Searching for wisdom means much more than just help with our studies. Yes, as a parent, I pray for wisdom for our son and daughter–not just for help with their college projects and exams, but also in the decisions they must make. Proverbs 9:10 tells us that the fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom. The Bible is the true source of wisdom. Time spent studying the Bible will give us insights and rewards. The Bible gives us tools for life that we cannot find in worldly wisdom.

A friend of ours was once a struggling student. He chose to spend time studying the Bible and a book written on the life of Christ, The Desire of Ages, daily. He soon found that his reading abilities improved and he was passing his classes. Today, he is successful in his work and is also teaching his young children the stories of the Bible.

Your commandment makes me wiser than my enemies,
for it is ever with me.
I have more understanding than all my teachers,
for your testimonies are my meditation.
I understand more than the aged,
for I keep your precepts. Psalm 119:98-100

Do you want wisdom? How about more understanding than your teachers? You must search for it like a miner searches for silver. But your search will be not be fruitless.

Then you will understand righteousness and justice
and equity, every good path;
for wisdom will come into your heart,
and knowledge will be pleasant to your soul;
discretion will watch over you,
understanding will guard you,
delivering you from the way of evil. Proverbs 2:9-12

I want that wisdom! My desire is to stay on the good paths and to be delivered from the way of evil. We can find these benefits of wisdom and more . . .

In Christ Alone,

Shelli Baze

Tell us what you think!

